Bet Slip

No Bets Added

All-Time Top Scorers in Europa League History

Europa League


The UEFA Europa League is the second-tier competition of European club football, ranking below the UEFA Champions League and above the UEFA Europa Conference League. It was previously known as the UEFA Cup, but was renamed to the UEFA Europa League prior to the 2009/10 season.

It was introduced in 1971 as the UEFA Cup, replacing the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup and was the third-tier competition until 1999, when the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup was discontinued and merged with the UEFA Cup. Henrik Larsson is the highest-ever scorer in this competition with 31, adding a further four goals in qualifying rounds. His goals were spread across three different clubs, Feyenoord, Celtic, and Helsingborg.

A change in format in 2009 led to it taking on a new name, the Europa League, which included an expanded group stage.

Spanish clubs account for 14 Europa League victories, the most of any nation. Sevilla have seven of them, making them the most successful club in competition history. English and Italian clubs have both won it nine times each. In total, the trophy has been lifted by 29 different clubs, with almost half of them winning it more than once (14).

Atletico Madrid were the first winners of the newly formed Europa League in 2010, beating Fulham in the final, before Chelsea became the first-ever club to win the Champions League and Europa League in back-to-back seasons in 2013. Due to competition dates, they were holders of both trophies at the same time. Sevilla are the current holders having won their seventh title after beating Roma on penalties in May.

competition logo

Team stats betting

Team%MatchesWin & BTTSFixtureOdds
1team badgeWisła
100.0%11Rapid (H)
2team badgeElfsborg
100.0%11Sheriff (A)
3team badgeSheriff
100.0%11Elfsborg (H)
4team badgeMolde
33.3%31Silkeborg (H)
5team badgeAjax
20.0%51Vojvodina (H)

Romelu Lukaku - 24 (Anderlecht, Everton, Inter, Roma)

The fifth-highest scorer in Europa League history is Romelu Lukaku, who scored his 23 goals for four different clubs, Anderlecht, Everton, Inter Milan and Roma. He was recently on an incredible streak of scoring in 14 consecutive Europa League games, a run which had stretched nine years. It began whilst he was at Everton in 14/15 and continued into the current campaign as he scored in a 2-0 victory against Czech side Slavia Prague. However, the return fixture in Prague saw the Italians lose 2-0, therefore marking the end of Lukaku’s impressive record.

In 19/20, he scored seven goals in six appearances in the tournament for Inter Milan, a season in which he came the closest to winning the Europa League. His strikes helped his side reach the final, where they lost 3-2 to Sevilla in Cologne. It was a very disappointing night for the club, but even more so for the Belgian striker as it was his own goal which proved to be the winner.

Munas Dabbur - 24 (Maccabi Tel-Aviv, Salzburg, Sevilla, Hoffenheim)

With 24 goals in 49 appearances, Israeli striker Munas Dabbur is the joint-fifth-highest scorer in Europa League history. The majority of his goals and appearances came for RB Salzburg between 2016 and 2019. He scored six for Hoffenheim, three for Sevilla and one for Maccabi Tel-Aviv. He spent just one season in Seville, but it was a successful one as he was part of the team when they beat Inter Milan in the final in 2020 although he was not in the match day squad.

During his time with RB Salzburg, he helped them finish top of their Europa League group in 2017/18, before making it to their first-ever semi-final following victories against Real Sociedad and Borussia Dortmund. Dabbur played in this tie, but they were defeated 3-2 on aggregate against Marseille.

His 23rd and 24th goals came in a 3-3 draw against Molde for Hoffenheim, in a last-32 first-leg tie in 2021. This moved him up to third spot on the list of all-time highest scorers in the competition but he has since been overtaken. Currently, he is playing for Shabab Al Alhi in Dubai.

Aritz Aduriz – 26 (Athletic Bilbao)

Coming in at number three is Spanish striker Aritz Aduriz, who scored all 26 of his Europa League goals for Athletic Bilbao.

He achieved this feat in an impressive 39 matches, with his best campaign coming in 2015/16 in which he scored 10 goals, helping his club reach the quarter-finals of the competition. Unfortunately, he could not add to his tally that year as they were knocked out by eventual champions Sevilla 5-3 on penalties following a 3-3 draw on aggregate.

Aduriz is also the first and only player to score five times in a Europa League fixture, doing so in a 5-3 victory of Genk in 2016. Three of his strikes were penalties, with the last one coming late on in the 94th minute. Only twice had a player scored four goals in a Europa League game before – Radamel Falcao for Porto in 2011 and Edinson Cavani for Napoli in 2012.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - 29 (Dortmund, Arsenal, Barcelona, Marseille)

Joint-second is former Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who has scored 26 goals for four different clubs, Borussia Dortmund, Arsenal, Barcelona and Marseille. Aubameyang has never won the competition but came closest in 2019, when Arsenal lost 4-1 to rivals Chelsea in the final in Baku.

The Gabonese striker played in his first Europa League season in 2009 for Lille, but failed to score in any of his seven appearances. His next appearance in the competition did not come until 2015/16, but he produced a strong campaign in which he scored eight goals in 10 games for Dortmund. This was his joint-best tally in the competition, as he also scored eight on Arsenal’s way to the final in 2018/19, though he achieved this in two extra games.

He entered the top five by equalling Munas Dubbar’s tally of 24 with a winner for Barcelona against Galatasaray in a Round of 16 second-leg tie in 2022. five more goals for Marseille this season, which included a hat-trick against Ajax has moved him further up the list and he will be hoping to add to his haul in the near future.

Radamel Falcao - 30 (Porto, Atlético de Madrid)

At number one with the most goals scored in Europa League history is Radamel Falcao, whose 30 goals was spread out across two different clubs, Porto and Atletico Madrid. Falcao is also the holder of most goals scored in a single tournament with 17.

Falcao scored 17 goals in 14 games for Porto during the Europa League campaign of 2010/11. This included the winning goal in the final, which saw his team beat another Portuguese side, FC Braga, 1-0 in Dublin.

His incredible stats and records in the competition makes him one of the greatest players in the tournament’s history, which he has won twice. In 2012 he became the first-ever player to win two consecutive titles with two different teams, as he lifted the trophy once more with Atletico Madrid. In that campaign he scored 12 in 15. He has spent the majority of his career since playing in the Champions League.