Bet Slip

No Bets Added

Which Team is the Best in Premier League History?


Which Team is the Best in Premier League History?

Recently, Betfair sent out a survey to fans in order to ask which Premier League side they think is the greatest of all time via a YouGov survey. More than 1,000 fans answered this and you can see the results of this below.

Heading into the 2022/23 Premier League season, Manchester City are the odds on favourites at 1/2, whilst Liverpool are priced at 16/5 to win their second title under the management of Jurgen Klopp.

Manchester United - 1998/99 (19% of Votes)

Manchester United’s treble-winning side was voted as the best in Premier League history with 19%, beating the likes of Arsenal’s invincibles and Liverpool’s dominant 2019/20 side.

This team is the only side in English football to achieve this unique treble to date, which is also regarded as the most prestigious, having won the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League in the same season.

Notably, United’s opponents were incredibly tough, having beaten Arsenal to the league title, as well as knocking out the Gunners in the FA Cup semi-final, as well as Liverpool and Chelsea on their road to Wembley when they beat Newcastle 2-0.

In the Champions League, the Red Devils progressed through a group containing the likes of Brondby, Barcelona and Bayern Munich before knocking out Inter Milan and Juventus on their way to the final at the Nou Camp where they famously defeated Bayern via two goals in stoppage time by Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Arsenal - 2003/04 & Liverpool - 2019/20 (15% of Votes)

Arsenal’s invincibles and Liverpool’s title-winning side of 2019/20 are next up on this list having both achieved memorable feats during those campaigns.

The Gunners are the only side to have ever gone through a whole Premier League campaign unbeaten having won 26 matches and drawn 12. Notably, Arsene Wenger’s side managed to wrap up the league title in the 2003/04 season via a 2-2 draw against fierce rivals Tottenham Hotspur at White Hart Lane.

Meanwhile, Liverpool won their first-ever Premier League title in 2019/20 as they finished on an incredible 99 points, ending their 30-year title drought. This was made even more impressive by the fact that they had narrowly missed out on the title the year before with 97 points, meaning that they amassed 196 points across two seasons.

Jurgen Klopp’s men finished 18 points clear of City and had the title virtually wrapped up in March prior to the postponement of the league, as they picked up 79 points from a possible 84 in their opening 28 matches.

Manchester City - 2017/18 (9% of Votes)

Pep Guardiola’s first-ever Premier League title win with Manchester City was perhaps one of his most memorable, as the Spaniard managed to lead them to a record 100 points via Gabriel Jesus’ late winner against Southampton on the final day of that season.

The Citizens finished 19 points clear of rivals Manchester United as they scored 106 and conceded just 27. On top of their record-breaking Premier League season, they also picked up the League Cup via a dominant 3-0 win over Arsenal at Wembley Stadium.

Manchester United - 2008/09 (8% of Votes)

At the end of the 2008/09 season, Manchester United managed to equal their record of being the only team in Premier League history to win three league titles in a row, having also managed it between 1998/99 and 2000/2001.

This was the end of their most successful era when they had the attacking quartet of Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo, Carlos Tevez and Dimitar Berbatov.

United won a record-equalling 18th league title that season as they finished four points clear of Liverpool. Sir Alex Ferguson’s men also managed to win the League Cup, but fell just short of becoming the first side to retain the Champions League as they were beaten 2-0 by Barcelona in Rome.

Leicester City - 2015/16 (7% of Votes)

Leicester City’s title win in 2015/16 was nothing short of sensational considering that they were priced at 5000/1 having just about survived relegation in 2014/15.

The signing of N’Golo Kante from Caen was a masterstroke by Claudio Ranieri and the Foxes recruitment team, as he gave the likes of Danny Drinkwater, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy the platform to perform and pull off a shock title win.

This was notably the year when Vardy and Mahrez realised their potentials, as Vardy managed to score 24 goals and in doing so, broke Ruud van Nistelrooy’s record of goals in consecutive matches when he bagged in 11 games in a row, with the last of that sequence coming in a 1-1 draw against the Dutchman’s old side, Manchester United.

Meanwhile, Mahrez won Premier League footballer of the year for 2015/16 by scoring 17 goals and creating 10 assists in 37 matches.

Manchester City - 2018/19 (5% of Votes)

The 2018/19 season saw Man City go on and further assert their dominance in English football as they managed to win every domestic trophy, winning the Community Shield, Premier League, League Cup and FA Cup, seeing them being branded as the ‘Fourmidables’.

What made this achievement even more impressive is that they won the Premier League with 98 points, just two less than that of the campaign before, whilst holding off a Liverpool side that scored 97 points - the highest-ever points tally by a runner-up in the English top-flight.

Chelsea - 2004/05 (4% of Votes)

Chelsea’s 2004/05 season was notably Jose Mourinho’s first in English football and having introduced himself as the ‘Special One’ off the back of his Champions League triumph with FC Porto, he certainly didn’t disappoint, guiding them to their first top-flight league title since 1955 - their second overall.

The Blues comfortably won the Premier League title in 2004/05, finishing 12 points clear of Arsenal, whilst losing just one match. At this time, the 95 points that they accumulated was a Premier League record.

During this campaign, the Blues also managed to win the League Cup as they beat Liverpool 3-2 at the Millenium Stadium thanks to a Steven Gerrard own goal, and extra-time strikes from Didier Drogba and Mateja Kezman.

Blackburn Rovers - 1994/95 (3% of Votes)

In 1994/95, Blackburn Rovers became the last town-based team to date to win the top-flight, having managed this under the ownership of local businessman Jack Walker, alongside the management of Kenny Dalglish.

Rovers managed to overcome a Manchester United side that faltered following the loss of Eric Cantona for his infamous Kung-fu kick on a fan at Selhurst Park part way through that season, as their deadly attacking duo Chris Sutton and Alan Shearer fired them to a sensational title win with 49 goals between them.

By achieving this feat, Blackburn became just the second team to win the Premier League after United, finishing on 89 points.

In what was a topsy-turvy season, Rovers actually lost 2-1 to Liverpool at Anfield on the final day of the campaign despite taking a lead through Shearer, but, due to United’s failure to beat West Ham at Upton Park, Dalglish was crowned as champion in-front of his adoring Liverpool faithful.

Chelsea - 2016/17 (2% of Votes)

The final team on this list is Chelsea’s last Premier League title-winning side of 2016/17 when they were under the management of Antonio Conte.

Life at Stamford Bridge started slowly for the Italian, as they won three out of their first six matches before switching to a 5-2-3 formation and they would never look back in truth, as they won a staggering 13 games in a row, putting them night and day ahead of the chasing pack.

Chelsea managed to win the title with two games to spare thanks to a Michy Batshuayi goal away at West Bromwich Albion in early May and are the last team to win the title prior to the recent dominance of Manchester City and Liverpool.

Click on the link provided to see more Premier League odds on Betfair: